OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well my big day is just about here! Tomorrow at 5:30 am the Bankers Insurance Half Marathon will begin.

My goal is to finish that half marathon!

I have run no more than a 5K before; I have done some training over the last two months and feel prepared to some extent.

I repeat my goal is to finish!

I am not about challenging someone else. I just want to challenge me.

If I can do this then I can take on anything.

The struggle, the training, the discipline, the falling behind in training only to jump back on the bandwagon as soon as possible, the pushing for fifteen minutes more to increase my distance even when I really wanted to stop: all these and other small accomplishments along the way have played a vital part in building the mental toughness it requires to achieve goals.

I will keep you posted about the race, if not tomorrow then hopefully on Tuesday.

Tomorrow Trinidad and Tobago will be celebrating our 53rd Independence. I will be taking in the display of fireworks in San Fernando, near my home with family and friends.

It is going to be a busy week. I look forward to hearing from you. Let me know what you do to build grit.

2 Replies to “”

    1. In this case doing well for me meant finishing. So I guess I did well – I finished in 2 hours 33 mins and I lost track of the seconds. Feeling so good – those ;hormones and neurotransmitters have done their job today!

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

