Indefatigable!

I stood alone, stretching to smooth out my wrinkled muscles which had become twisted and tightened by the stresses of the day. Slowly I began to walk with baby steps then with a few skips and hops, the steady, snail’s pace trot began. With each step my muscles complained a little less. Synapses began to fire. Passages opened, allowing a rush of air, as pure as could be in this industrialized, contaminated atmosphere. Oxygenated blood surged into vital cells, invigorating and re-activating sinews, muscles and tissues.
Tap, tap, tap…the sound of my lonesome footsteps; my constant companion on this quotidian trek. One, two, three… one hundred, one, two three… The cerebral thoughts are limited. “Ha, ha,ha, I am the Count and the Count loves to count.”
Strangely this monotonic repetition suppressed any thought of giving up. Battling with the strong breeze, I pounded forward like a salmon returning to its natal stream, courageously contending with opposing currents and predators. As I changed direction, the wind cooperated with me, reducing my effort, pushing me closer to my goal.
Feeling like an eagle, soaring masterfully; comfortably and confidently manipulating stride, breath and effort, I completed one lap. The cycle was repeated and soon the mission was near to completion.

Perspiring profusely, pumped with endorphins, I could have run for hours longer but… reality kicked in.
I was but an aging human, running like a tortoise not soaring like an eagle.


A wind-up toy no longer moves when its potential energy is converted to kinetic energy and the spring has become unwound; it has to be re-wound before going again. So too, my flagging energy level and the heaviness in my legs were the signals that I had to stop. Of mere mortal status, my body would need rest, re-hydration and food to recuperate for the process the next day.
Unlike us, God is indefatigable. His love, mercy and grace for us have no bounds. He is capable of giving, forgiving and loving us continuously. He created the world and all that is in it without resting until the job was completed.
He has always worked to save us. When He was displeased with the people, He could have destroyed everyone by the great flood. Instead He warned Noah and provided an emergency plan to ensure that all were not destroyed. He brought the Israelites out of bondage using Moses.When they became unfaithful and disobedient, He instituted the Commandments to guide the people back to Him.
Their insistence on non-conformity to God’s instructions resulted in their wandering for forty years before God led them to the promised Land flowing with milk and honey… but they did get to that Land.
The greatest illustration of His relentless pursuit of us, His people, is the sacrificial death and resurrection of His Son for our redemption through His blood. This was an act of profound love; boundless, limitless and encompassing love.

By this gift, we are assured of eternity with Him, as long as we believe in the Father and the Son. Even after Christ was resurrected He did not leave us alone. The Holy Spirit was sent as a Comforter and to reveal truth.
“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

Do you believe? Please leave a comment, I would like to know your thoughts. Remember one step towards God brings you that much closer to Him. Are you going to make more steps?

Leave a Reply

