bocas lit fest south, motivational

NGC Bocas Lit Fest South 2014

ngc

Congratulations and thank you to the NGC Bocas Lit Fest and to their headline sponsor, NGC, for hosting a literary success this weekend, November 8th and 9th 2014 at the Southern Academy for the Performing Arts (SAPA). It was a wonderful opportunity for authors, poets and fans to showcase and promote their works and to bask in the glow of a cerebral and cultural atmosphere. It is sad though that the Southland, which should, like a sponge, absorb such an erudite affair, managed a smaller crowd than I am sure there could have been. Despite my higher expectations, the event still attracted enthusiasts and I am sure that, given the efficiency and professionalism associated with the festival, next year will be an even greater success.

My experience with them was satisfying. I was able to interact with several other authors, both published and unpublished, as well as to meet some very interesting persons. I was part of a session entitled: Crime: is fiction worse than reality? For this session, there were three authors of fictional crime stories and myself as the only non-fiction writer. Gyasi Gonzales, a Trinidad Express crime reporter, was the moderator for our session. Interestingly Gyasi’s story was the headline story for today’s Express. Unfortunately, as is to be expected from a crime reporter, his story was distressing; it told of the discovery of two of bodies in a plastic bag suspected to be members of the family which went missing last week.

Gyasi identified himself and his qualification for being selected as the session’s host: he has eighteen years of experience in reporting stories on crime in Trinidad and Tobago. This Rasta journalist proved a competent moderator, who did his best within the constraint of time. He was knowledgeable, empathetic and encouraging. I felt honoured when he saw it appropriate to stand in acknowledgement of the trauma I had been through.

My reading was well received, I believe, but then, the audience was made up of word aficionados. I was literally shivering; my bionic jaws were clattering as a result of the low temperature in the hall (thank you for the coffee, Gyasi). On completion of my reading, one of the other authors, Barbara Jenkins, stood to endorse my efforts. Thank you Ms. Jenkins. There were a few comments and questions from the audience but again time did not permit the type of discussion which had been projected by the Festival organisers.

I must say a hearty thank you to:

• the Festival organisers,
• the NGC for their support of such a venture,
• RIK Bookstores for promoting my book
• Paper Based bookstore for their support
• My mother for being present
• God for His presence and love in everything.

Perhaps you attended the event. Why don’t you drop me a line to let me know what you thought of the event? I look forward to hearing from anyone about their thoughts on having such enriching occasions in South Trinidad.

Leave a Reply

